Skip to main content

Johnson City Medical Center PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Details

Johnson City Medical Center began its Postgraduate Year One (PGY1) Pharmacy Residency Program in 2010 and is fully accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Residency program requirements

To apply for this residency, the following is required:

  • Enrolled in or a graduate of an ACPE-accredited advanced pharmacy program
  • Eligible for pharmacist licensure in the state of Tennessee and licensed within the first 90 days of the residency program
  • Letter of intent
  • Curriculum vitae (CV)
  • College of pharmacy transcripts
  • Three letters of recommendation (at least two should be from clinical preceptors)
  • Completed PhORCAS application
  • Interview
  • Participation in the ASHP Resident Matching Program

Completed application packets will be reviewed by members of the Residency Advisory Committee (RAC) to determine the candidates that most closely match the program goals, objectives, and opportunities.

Residency benefits

  • $44,553 stipend
  • Paid time off (PTO)
  • Health, dental, and vision insurance
  • Travel allowance to attend professional meetings
    • ASHP Midyear Clinical Meeting
    • Regional Residency Conference

Learning experiences


  • Critical Care (Medicine or Trauma-Surgical)
  • Family Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Internal Medicine
  • Management
  • Pediatrics


  • Critical Care Medicine
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Inpatient Oncology
  • Outpatient Oncology
  • Precepting
  • Trauma-Surgical Critical Care


  • Advancing Practice
  • Formulary Review
  • Medication Use Evaluation (MUE)
  • Presentation
  • Research
  • Staffing

A voluntary Teaching and Learning Certificate (TLC) is available through Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy at East Tennessee State University (ETSU). Resident preceptors serve as adjunct faculty and precept Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) students.


Corinne Allen, PharmD, MBA
John Bossaer, PharmD, BCPS, BCOP
David Cluck, PharmD, BCPS, BCIDP, AAHIVP
Kelly Covert, PharmD, BCPS
Andrew Davis, PharmD
Cameron Lanier, PharmD, BCPS
Cathy Lawson, PharmD, BCCCP
Tim Lundberg, PharmD
Robin Mottern, PharmD, BCPPS
Ashley Sant, PharmD, BCPS, BCOP
David Stewart, PharmD, BCPS
Jen Tharp, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP
Rob Vincent, PharmD, BCPS
Vera Wilson, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP

Former PGY1 Residents

Kimber Lewis, PharmD 2021 - Emergency Department Clinical Pharmacist - Gallup Indian Medical Center

Matthew Spence, PharmD 2021 - PGY2 Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Resident - University of Kansas Health System

Caroline Horner, PharmD 2020 - Clinical Pharmacist - Bristol Regional Medical Center

Samantha Rodriguez, PharmD 2020 - Evening Critical Care Pharmacist - Wesley Medical Center

Jessi Edwards, PharmD 2019 - Oncology Clinical Pharmacy Specialist - Novant Health

Colleen Lau, PharmD 2019 - Clinical Pharmacist - Johnson City Medical Center

Aaryn Brewster, PharmD 2018 - Clinical Pharmacist - Johnson City Medical Center

Jacob Lines, PharmD, AAHIVP 2018 - Infectious Diseases Clinical Pharmacy Specialist - East Tennessee State University

Olivia Davis, PharmD 2017 - Clinical Pharmacist - University of Tennessee Health Science Center

George Wohlford, PharmD, BCPS 2017 - Senior Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Cardiology Focus) - Virginia Commonwealth University

Joel Huffman, PharmD 2016 - Emergency Medicine Clinical Pharmacist - Wesley Medical Center

Tim Lundberg, PharmD 2016 - Clinical Pharmacist - Johnson City Medical Center

Rebecca Garcia, PharmD, BCOP 2015 - Oncology Clinical Specialist - Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center

Lacie Woodall McKamey, PharmD, BCPS, BCIDP 2015 - Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist, PGY2 Infectious Diseases Pharmacy Residency Program Director - Novant Health

Abigail Brown Jones, PharmD, BCPS 2014 - Clinical Pharmacist - Grandview Medical Center

Andrew Pate, PharmD, BCPS 2014 - Pharmacy Manager - Piedmont Atlanta Hospital

Joshua Carter, PharmD, BCPS 2013 - Oncology Clinical Pharmacist - Ballad Health Cancer Care

Ben Turner, PharmD, BCPS 2013 - Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist - Ascension Saint Thomas Rutherford Hospital

Casey Wilbert, PharmD, MBA, BCPS 2012 - Director of Pharmacy - Rochester General Hospital

Emily Holley, PharmD 2011 - Pharmacist - Berry’s Pharmacy

Ashley Bolling Sant, PharmD, BCPS, BCOP 2011 - Oncology Clinical Pharmacist - Ballad Health Cancer Care

Learn more

For more information and additional resources, please contact:
Cathy Lawson, PharmD, BCCCP
Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator
PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Program Director
PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Program Coordinator
400 N. State of Franklin Rd.
Johnson City, Tennessee 37604