Skip to main content

Johnson City Medical Center PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Details

Johnson City Medical Center began its Postgraduate Year Two (PGY2) Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Program in 2020 and has candidate accreditation status from the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP).

Residency program requirements


  • Pharmacy degree from ACPE-accredited College of Pharmacy
  • Completion of an ASHP-accredited PGY1 Pharmacy Residency
  • Pharmacist licensure in the state of Tennessee

Application requirements:

  • All application materials are to be submitted using PhORCAS
  • College of pharmacy transcripts
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Letter of intent
  • Three letters of recommendation
  • Participation in the ASHP Resident Matching Program

Completed application packets will be reviewed by members of the Residency Advisory Committee (RAC) to determine the candidates that most closely match the program goals, objectives, and opportunities.

Selected candidates will be invited to an interview.

Residency benefits

  • $51,480 stipend
  • Paid time off (PTO)
  • Health, dental, and vision insurance
  • Travel support for the Society of Critical Care Medicine Congress

Learning Experiences


  • Clinical Pharmacy Practice
  • Critical Care Medicine 1
  • Critical Care Medicine 2
  • Critical Care Medicine 3
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Trauma/Surgical Critical Care 1
  • Trauma/Surgical Critical Care 2


  • Advanced Nutrition Support
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Management


Pharmacy residents will participate in a longitudinal research project that originates from either resident interest or preceptor research submissions. Additional longitudinal opportunities include medication use evaluations (MUE), formulary reviews and continuing education presentations.

A voluntary Teaching and Learning Certificate (TLC) is available through Bill Gatton College of Pharmacy at East Tennessee State University (ETSU). Resident preceptors serve as adjunct faculty and precept Doctor of Pharmacy (PharmD) students.


David Cluck, PharmD, BCPS, BCIDP, AAHIVP
Kelly Covert, PharmD, BCPS
Cameron Lanier, PharmD, BCPS
Cathy Lawson, PharmD, BCCCP
Robin Mottern, PharmD, BCPP
Jen Tharp, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP
Rob Vincent, PharmD, BCPS
Vera Wilson, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP

Former PGY2 Residents

Samantha Rodriguez, PharmD 2021 - Evening Critical Care Pharmacist - Wesley Medical Center

Learn more

For more information and additional resources, please contact:
Jen Tharp, PharmD, BCPS, BCCCP
PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency Program Director
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Critical Care